Happy Memorial Day and the Story of a Gift to a Veteran

I just wanted to wish everybody a happy Memorial Day, like I do every year.  I would like to quickly thank all of our soldiers who are currently fighting overseas, as well as any veterans who have returned to this country after fighting.  But most importantly, I would like to thank those who have given the ultimate sacrifice for their country.  I truly appreciate what you did for me and every other person alive in America today.  Also, I would like to reach out to the families of those who have either lost someone in the military or even who have someone serving overseas now.  The loss of a family member is hard, but even the chance of losing a loved one is quite a strain on most people.

Again, this year I had to work (at least I’ll get paid a little extra) – the same place as the last 2 years – a local historical attraction.  And I have a little story that I wanted to share.

Today, I was working at the frozen custard stand, and I had maybe 25 people in my line.  A woman walked up and ordered some frozen custard and then handed me a $5 bill and said, “The man behind me is a Korean War veteran, and I want to use this to pay for part of his order, but I don’t want him to know about it.”  So, I took the money and when it came time for him to order, I pulled it out from beside my register and said, “Someone wanted to pay for your order because you served in Korea.”  So he said “Okay,” and looked at his wife, and they both showed off a smile of surprise and happiness.

And that right there is what days like today are all about.  Sure, parades and fireworks and bands playing battle hymns or the National Anthem are patriotic, and I’m sure the veterans and families of fallen heroes appreciate those things, but it’s things like paying for somebody’s meal because they were a veteran that really touch the hearts of those who have given so much.

So, go out and have your barbecues (although it may be a little late for some people now – at least on the East Coast), but I’d encourage you – the next time you see a veteran, do something nice for him or her.  In the least, go up to them and say, “Thank you for your service.”  I can tell you from what I’ve heard from friends of mine who are veterans – they appreciate it.  It means a whole lot more than people think it would.

Happy Memorial Day everybody – and make sure you drive safe!

Done Celebrating,

Ranting Republican

One Response to “Happy Memorial Day and the Story of a Gift to a Veteran”

  1. Avertedd Says:

    Спасибо. То, что нужно ))

Leave a Reply

