Jack Hoogendyk Drops Bid for Michigan GOP Chair; Ron Weiser Now Unopposed

This is semi-breaking news coming in about the race for the chairman of the Michigan Republican Party.

Former MI GOP Chairman candidate Jack Hoogendyk (who ran for Senate against Carl Levin this past year) issued the following press release earlier today:

I am writing today to announce my decision to withdraw from the race for Party Chairman. This comes after a great deal of careful consideration and discussion with close friends and family. I congratulate Ron Weiser for his strong and successful campaign. I wish him well in his new role as chairman and pledge to do what I can to help strengthen the party and deliver victory in 2010.

I am stepping out of this race, but not out of the political arena. I intend to do my part to help make the party stronger and more unified under the banner of “less government, low taxes and individual responsibility.” I will be sending newsletters and blogs to let you know what those “rascally Democrats” in Lansing are up to; things you aren’t likely to read about in the newspaper.

I am happy to report that I have been offered a position that allows me to fight for some of those basic freedoms that all Republicans believe in and which our constitution protects. I will share the details of my new assignment soon. Until then, thank you to everyone who encouraged me in this race. Over 900 of you endorsed the effort. I will always be grateful for that.

I pledge to uphold the values and ideals that you hold dear and I encourage you to stay engaged in the pursuit of returning the Republican Party to its rightful place as the party of limited government and personal responsibility. God bless all of you. If you have any questions or input, please call me at 269-806-4626.

So, there you have it – Ron Weiser is now officially unopposed.  I had endorsed Weiser about a month ago, but hadn’t really publicized it, but now that doesn’t really matter since he’s unopposed.  I’m really glad that Hoogendyk decided to bow out – Weiser was pretty much guaranteed to win, and an unopposed race will guarantee that we start to reunify the party here in Michigan.

We’re going to need to reunify a lot more if we want to win the Governor’s race in 2010, and then the White House in  2012, and this is a step in the right direction.

Done Ranting,

Ranting Republican
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! ::

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Jack Hoogendyk Drops Bid for Michigan GOP Chair; Ron Weiser Now Unopposed”

  1. RightWingReform Says:

    A classy move by Jack. Let’s get this party working for the people again.

  2. Nick Says:

    Agree. Definite step in the right direction.

    Now the whole team can come together and get started on 2010 without wasting the next month on self-destructive bickering.

    –Nick
    http://www.RightMichigan.com

  3. Kyle Says:

    An exclusive interview with Jack Hoogendyk http://www.michigandaily.com/content/2009-01-29/u-alum-set-head-michigan-gop

  4. Kyle Says:

    An exclusive interview with Jack Hoogendyk

    http://www.michigandaily.com/content/2009-01-29/u-alum-set-head-michigan-gop

Leave a Reply

