Should the U.S. Government Be Tracking Santa?

noradsantaAlright, I already know that I’m gonna take some heat for this post, but I’ve never been one to back down due to unpopularity.  This year, like they have for the past 53 years, the North American Aerospace Defense Command (NORAD) tracked Santa as he travelled from the North Pole around the world delivering presents.  Now, NORAD isn’t all U.S. funded, since it’s a joint organization of the Canadian Forces Air Command and the United States Air Force.

So, I began thinking, “Isn’t this kinda wasting government money?”  So, I did some research.  I went to www.noradsanta.org and began looking around.  I found this information about NORAD’s Santa tracking operation:

Since that time, NORAD men, women, family and friends have selflessly volunteered their time to personally respond to Christmas Eve phone calls and emails from children. In addition, we now track Santa using the internet. Last year, millions of people who wanted to know Santa’s whereabouts visited the NORAD Tracks Santa website.

So, from what I understand, the people aren’t getting paid, but that still doesn’t account for the website and actually running the operation on Christmas Eve / Christmas.  I know I must seem like such a Scrooge, but I just can’t justify the government tracking Santa, since he poses absolutely no threat to our air space.

Now, that being said, the nice, loving side of me is hating my fiscally responsible half right now, but I still can’t justify our government spending money on this.  If anybody from NORAD is reading this, could you tell me how much is actually spent on the Santa tracking operation?  Now, if this is all paid for by some fund or volunteers, I have no problem with NORAD being the face of the operation, I just can’t justify government funds going toward tracking Santa.

Alright, now it’s time for your opinion:

Done Ranting,

Ranting Republican
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! ::

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Should the U.S. Government Be Tracking Santa?”

  1. Surfergurl Says:

    Um….Santa is make-believe, you do realize, right? Now, can you honestly say you believe that government funding is actually being used to track something that’s make-believe?? I won’t even go into the whole mindset of people like you who get your boxers in a wad over something the government does that’s actually FUN. If it weren’t for the Canadians, you miserly Conservatives wouldn’t hesitate to take something like this away from young Americans. A pox upon you, Mr. Grinch.

  2. inkslwc Says:

    Well, I wasn’t going to go out and state that Santa is make believe since I don’t want to be known as the blog that helped killed the belief in Santa for some kid.

    And, like I said, if it’s privately funded, I love that the government is being the face of this. Heck! I’d help sponsor it. I’m just saying I don’t think it should be government funded.

  3. Common Sense Says:

    The wrong question is being asked here, Inks. You should be asking how much (or really, how little) is the government actually spending on this. It doesn’t cost the government any money for the server or traffic, since that is already an expense that was in place with or without the Santa Track. Using Google Earth (or whichever program that was) to keep track of the locations being sent didn’t cost the government any money either. The only real expense came down to the animation of Santa flying around in the different cities. I’m not sure if that was something that was outsourced or if it was done in-house. If it was done in-house and through the volunteer efforts by the staff, then there is yet one more thing that the government didn’t pay for. In all, it could possibly cost the government absolutely nothing in the end.

    However, to answer your question, should the U.S. Government be tracking Santa, I say yes. It is harmless fun that parents and children alike can partake in; bringing them closer together. Isn’t that worth a fraction of one of your pennies?

  4. inkslwc Says:

    Domain name (although that’s a 1-time cost) and some web design. Like I said, it is minimal, but the point I was making is not how much, but the general principle. And sure it’s worth a fraction of MY pennies, but it should still not be a government-paid for thing. It’s unfair to others who don’t support it.

  5. jockridge Says:

    Chill out even if it does cost the government a little bit of money a little good will goes a long way and right now the government needs it. I am as fiscally conservative as anyone out there and this doesn’t bother me. If you really want to fight government waste then I say we go after Barney Franks salary followed by Nancy Pelosi and Harry Reid. After that stop the Robert Byrd pork projects in West Virginia. I’m sure we can find better ways to save government money than stopping the Santa tracking radar.

  6. inkslwc Says:

    I totally agree that there are bigger problems. I’m just saying that I saw this and thought, “What a waste.”

  7. U.S. Common Sense Says:

    “It’s unfair to others who don’t support it.”

    hahaha . . . sorry for picking on you with this sentence, but since when has the US population in general ever unanimously supported something? 🙂

  8. inkslwc Says:

    Never. But a policy like that would decrease wasteful spending a heck of a lot! Point is – this is something charity, not the government should pay for. If NORAD wants to be the face of it, that’s fine with me.

  9. House of Representatives Debates and Votes to Congratulate the Pittsburg Steelers for Their Superbowl Win « Republican Ranting Says:

    […] I’m a fun killer (we all know that I am Mr. Grinch and hate Santa), and I realize that Congress should be allowed to have fun and do some stuff like this, but to […]

Leave a Reply

