Merry Christmas!

Right now I’m in between making 2 batches of Christmas candy (2 more to go), and I just wanted to take a break to say MERRY CHRISTMAS.  It’s been a busy day, from my car breaking down while I went Christmas shopping (apparently killing the power steering, the battery, and overheating the car was God’s way of telling me not to procrastinate anymore), to going to 2 church services (I like my current church, but there’s nothing like going back to my Old Presbyterian Church, singing some classic hymns and Christmas songs, and seeing a bunch of elderly women who love seeing me and my sister every time we visit – and the food’s always good too), to going to K-Mart to buy more sugar for the Christmas candy and overhearing the girl behind me say, “I’m buying cigs for my dad to put in his stocking … I couldn’t think of anything to get him.”

But from church to cigarettes to candy, I just want to remind everybody out there to take a break from your busy lives and think about what really matters today: Christ.  You see God really does put the Christ in Christmas, and more people (including myself) need to stop and ponder this.

Now, if you’re not a Christian, then that’s fine too, but don’t give me any of this “Happy Holidays” crap.  Christmas has been recognized as a federal holiday.  If you don’t think that it’s a secular holiday too, then I urge you to show up to work.  If you work in a factory where you need lots of people to make the place run, go in and just clean up.  If you don’t have a key, go around and offer to shovel snow as a job – I’m sure somebody will hire you.  Or offer taxi services – there’ll be lots of drunk people who need it.  Point is, I’m sure you could find a job somewhere, but most of you will enjoy the day off, so call it as it is and say, “Merry Christmas.”

Alright, I’m off to go make more candy.

I wish you all a safe and Merry Christmas.  If you’re travelling and it’s snowing, drive safe – better to get there late than not at all.  The same principle applies to drinking and driving – just don’t do it.  Get a friend to drive or hire a cab.

Merry Christmas folks!

Done Celebrating,

Ranting Republican
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! ::

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Merry Christmas!”

  1. Khaki Elephant Says:

    Nice

    Merry Christmas!

  2. Luke Says:

    I’m a bit late… Merry Christmas! I wasn’t on the computer at all the past couple days.
    Glad to see I’m not the only one going to 2 church services🙂
    They needed help with ushers for the Christmas Morning Mass, so I decided to help.

Leave a Reply

