Evidence that Some Blacks Are Not Voting for Obama Based on Issues

So, a friend sent me a link to a clip from the Howard Stern show from last Sunday, and I put it into a video (as well as typed up a transcript which is below the video).  It’s one of Stern’s radio people, Sal, who goes into Harlem and interviews 3 black people and attributes McCain’s stances to Obama.  They say that they agree with those stances (thinking that they are Obama’s).

It’s pretty funny, but also pretty scary to think that these people are voting:

And here’s the transcript I typed up:

Please be advised that the following clip is not the property of BPM DJs.  It’s a bit from the Howard Stern show that I sent to a few friends in my office, and since, it’s gotten attention from around the world.  Now that you know a little bit of what you’ve been missing, I suggest getting a Sirius Satellite radio, and you’ll laugh every day.  Without any further delay, here’s Sal in Harlem.

Howard Stern: Uh, what else.  I don’t know.  So much more-I did promise to play you, this-I played it earlier in the morning; I’ll give it one more shot.  Sal did a rather brilliant thing.  He went up to Harlem to ask people who they were gonna vote for, and uh-most people said, “Barack Obama.”  So what he said is, “Do you still-do you support Obama’s views?” but he attributed all of McCain’s views to Obama.

Robin Quivers: Yes, yes.

Stern: And it didn’t-

Quivers: And it didn’t cause even-

Stern: It didn’t sway anyone.

Quivers: But it didn’t cause people to even flinch.  They moved right along.

Stern: This is crazy.  So listen to this:

Sal Governale: Some people speculate that blacks are voting for Obama strictly because he’s black and not because of his policies, so we took McCain’s policies and pretended they were Obama’s.  This is what they had to say:

Sal: For the election, Obama or McCain?

Man #1: I like Obama.

Sal: Now, what don’t you like about McCain?

Man #1: McCain seems to not really know what he’s doing right now.

Sal: Are you more for Obama’s policy because he’s pro-life or because he thinks our troops should stay in Iraq and finish this war?

Man #1: I think because our troops should stay in Iraq and finish this war.  I’m really firm with that-definitely.

Sal: Now how about as far as-um-him being pro-life?  Do you support Obama in that case?

Man #1: Yeah, I do.  I do.  I support him in that case.

Sal: And if he wins, would you have any problem with Sarah Palin being Vice President?

Man #1: No I wouldn’t.  Not at all.

Sal: So you-y-y-you think he made the right choice in that?

Man #1: I definitely do.

Sal: Thank you very much sir, and have a great day.

Man #1: Have a great day.

Stern: So they guy agreed with everything McCain is for, except he said it was for Obama.  Here’s another example:

Sal: Are you for Obama or McCain?

Man #2: Obama.

Sal: Ok, and why not McCain?

Man #2: Well, I just don’t agree with some of his-you know-policies-you know.

Sal: Now, Obama says that he’s anti-stem cell research.  How do you feel about that?

One quick note here.  McCain is not anti-stem cell research.  He is opposed to EMBRYONIC stem cell research.  There’s a big difference here, and often times, people just put both into the same pile.

Man #2: I-I believe that’s-I wouldn’t do that either.  I-I’m anti-stem cell stem cell-yeah.

Sal: Anti-stem cell research.  Now if Obama wins, do you mind Sarah Palin being Vice President?

Man #2: No.  No, I don’t.

Stern: Alright, there you go.  Now our third example which-uh-we found this woman:

Sal: This election, Obama or McCain?

Woman: Obama.

Sal: Now, why not McCain?  What don’t you like about him?

Woman: Um.  He sorta doesn’t sound like he has enough-like-he does-he’s not-he’s uneducated.  Because when he had the-um-they had the-both of the Presidents speaking, um-he didn’t sound like he knew what he was talking about too much, whereas Obama had facts and information when he was speaking.

The woman who talks about “when they had both of the Presidents speaking” is calling McCain uneducated?  I found her to be the funniest of the 3.

Sal: Good point.  Let me ask you this: Do you support Obama more because he’s pro-life or because he says our troops should stay in Iraq and finish the war?

Woman: Um-I guess both.

Sal: Now, if Obama wins, do you have any problem with Sarah Palin being his Vice President?

Woman: Um-nope.  Not at all.

Sal: Do you think she’ll do a good job?

Woman: I think she’ll do a good job.

Sal: Are you glad he elected her to be the VP if he wins?

Woman: Yep.

Sal: Thank you very much.

Woman: You’re welcome.

Stern: Alright, there it is.  Sal in Harlem-and-uh-doing his work [unintelligible] brilliantly.  There you go.  Dice clay, Andrew Dice Clay, as you know is uh- 

That should scare you.  That’s evidence right there that some people aren’t voting for Obama based on the issues.  And a lot of people attribute this to black people voting for Obama simply because he’s black.  Now, I’m not saying that this IS the reason, but there have been African Americans who have said that that is why they support Obama.

So, I just thought I’d share this with you – on the surface, it’s funny, but when you think about the fact that some of these people are picking our next President based on who knows what, it’s really scary.

Done Ranting,

Ranting Republican
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! ::

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Evidence that Some Blacks Are Not Voting for Obama Based on Issues”

  1. Luke Says:

    This is a new take on an old topic. I think it was funny, and yes, scary as well. The flip side to this coin would be those people who are racist that are only voting McCain because he is not the black guy.

    I remember when this topic came up with the Hilary campaign. I actually spoke to women I know, who had said flat out that they would vote for Hilary just because she was a woman. Well, at least they could admit it, unlike the people in this case.

    You know, I’ve had this discussion with friends before, many of which disagreed with me, but I always thought it would be nice to have to pass an exam to be allowed to vote. I know, it’s a right, but seriously, when you see crap like this, it gets to you. I see a bunch of people who are voting for our leaders and they haven’t got a clue as to what they are voting on! Why ruin it for the people who actually do care what policies their candidate is running on.

    Just to be fair, I think McCain will experience a similar effect from having a female VP. I have to say, again, it is scary and I don’t like it for either side.

  2. inkslwc Says:

    You’re right. And as I’ve said before, it’ll be interesting to see how Obama does in my home County of Wayne County, Michigan, because you have a lot of the suburbs that are very racist.

  3. jschwalbe Says:

    yikes!

  4. H. Sendai Says:

    Hey😛

    Well I guess we are entering the final stretch 🙂. As always it will come down to the swing voters, though I have to admit that I have never seen a presidential race loose as much steam in its final moments as this one has. Once again we seem to be choosing between the lesser of two evils and we are simply shooting for everyone to walk away unhappy😦. Regardless of your political affiliation I would simply encourage you to get out and VOTE on November fourth, and show your support for American political institutions.

  5. “People are only voting for Obama cause he’s black…” « .she’s a bitch. Says:

    […] you want my body, and you think I’m sexy… The Art of Escape: By An Escape Artist“People are only voting for Obama cause he’s black…”Him that I love, I wish to be free — even from me.Stay Classy, Hippies….Pakistani Spectator […]

  6. Edu Says:

    I,m With Obama/Biden ,change is comming soon!

Leave a Reply

