Obama’s “I’ve Got a Bracelet Too” Comment Was Disrespectful to Troops

Alright, this is (presumably) my last post about Friday’s debate.  The following is an exchange between Senator McCain and Senator Obama, regarding Afghanistan:

When I originally watched that, what struck me the most was Obama saying (1:17), “Uh, Jim, th-l-let me just make a point: I’ve got a bracelet too.  From Sergeant–uh–uh–from the mother of–uh–Ryan David Jopek, given to me in Green Bay.”

Now, first, I know that me putting the stuttering in there looks kinda bad, but I have a point to that.  The part that struck me most offensive was the “Let me just make a point: I’ve got a bracelet too.”  It came across as Obama saying something like, “Oh yeah, well I’ve got…”  And my (liberal) roommate agreed with me – he found that part as a bad statement from Obama (and again, thanks to my roommate for all he’s helped me with on the blog – especially during the debate, when I couldn’t keep up with typing as fast as they were talking).

The media had raised the fact that Obama stuttered over Sergeant Jopek’s name, and at first, based on initial videos that I watched I was going to dismiss it to the fact that Obama is really not that great of a speaker, especially in debates (as evidenced by the stuttering and the “um”s, which is why I included it.  It’s not an insult to him, it’s just the truth.  I love Representative Tom Tancredo [R-CO], but I’ll be the first to admit–and I have–that when it comes to speaking, he’s just atrocious).

Then I watched the video again today.  Notice as he’s trying to get the name out, that he looks down.  My thought was that the name is on the bracelet and he’s trying to read the name.  I don’t know if my theory is right or not, but if it is correct, it gives more credit to the people who were claiming that Obama forgot the name of the soldier.

Again, even if he did “forget” the name, I think this could be credited to the fact that he was probably nervous, and that’s what I credit a lot of his stuttering to (it seemed higher than normal).  The biggest problem that I had with that statement was his whole attitude.  The irreverent attitude of “I’ve got a bracelet too.”  It came across that he was just using the sacrifice that Sergeant Jopek gave for political gain.

We have to be very careful when we use military heroes as examples.  When our soldiers become methods to get points across instead of the REASON that we are making the point, we have trivialized their sacrifices and have dishonored them.  This is unacceptable, no matter who does it or what party they are from.

Done Ranting,

Ranting Republican
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! ::

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Obama’s “I’ve Got a Bracelet Too” Comment Was Disrespectful to Troops”

  1. Steph Says:

    What Obama did is no different than what McCain did, and has done for months now. McCain was using his bracelet as a political statement as well, and Obama was merely pointing out that just because one mother agrees with McCain’s views on the war doesn’t mean they all do. Obama was not being disrespectful in any way. The soldier’s mother has said that she was “ecstatic” that he mentioned her son.

    Do you have any idea what it is like to have a family member in a war? My brother is a Marine and the realities of that are something we have to deal with every day. Don’t tell me Obama was disrespecting soldiers by pointing out that not every mother is gung-ho about sending her son off to die in a war that can’t be won.

  2. inkslwc Says:

    No. McCain used the example as the reason that he has his stance on the war. The way Obama did it, Sergeant Jopek was just an example, not the reason he believes what he believes.

    Yes, I do know what it’s like to have loved ones in the military during a time of war.

  3. inkslwc Says:

    Comment left on my Facebook page on this note:

    I’m commenting here because I’m not sure if I can via your blog. Plus facebook loads quicker for me. Anyway, even if Obama did forget the name, I wouldn’t be offended. Even if I was the mom/wife/whatever of that soldier, I really wouldn’t be for a lot of different reasons. Also, and this is coming from a McCain supporter, I felt the whole bracelet thing was unnecessary to begin with. I probably will wind up voting for McCain and I love that he has military background and all but I feel like he SERIOUSLY overplays it. Not that he’s exaggerating what happened but we all know and I felt for most of the debate that it was all “Oh I was in the military” or him name dropping. Kind of irritating to me. To me it felt as if that was the only credit he had throughout the entire debate. I obviously realize that’s not true but for someone just watching without a lot of knowledge on candidates, I’d probably think McCain doesn’t have much else to talk about other than his military experience and the important friends he has. That’s just me though.

Leave a Reply

