Democratic Leader Laughs About Hurricane Gustav Hitting During the Republican National Convention

Well, this is just disgusting.  The following is a video captured on a flight back from the DNC, of former DNC chairman Don Fowler and Representative John Spratt (D-SC) (transcript below):

The hurricane’s going to hit New Orleans about the time they start. [Chuckle] The timing is — at least it appears now that it’ll be there Monday. That just demonstrates that God’s on our side. [Laughter] … Everything’s cool.

That’s just disturbing.  I don’t care who you are – you shouldn’t want a hurricane to hit EVER, and to want to get political gain out of it is just disgusting.  If a Republican said that, I’d be posting the same thing right now.  It’s shameful and wrong!

Done Ranting,

Ranting Republican
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! ::

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Democratic Leader Laughs About Hurricane Gustav Hitting During the Republican National Convention”

  1. Fred Says:

    But I guess it’s OK if you’re a Republican.

  2. inkslwc Says:

    And that’s totally unacceptable too! I’m tired of partisan crap going on like this.

    Although I’ll note that rain and a hurricane are 2 different things. Also, the dude praying for rain isn’t an RNC member, but it’s still disgusting and wrong.

  3. Jason Gillman Says:

    The hurricane is a pretty crappy deal for all of those folks again. I wouldn’t wish it upon anyone, for any reason.

    But the tragedy that is the hurricane already shows the Republican governor’s handling is going to make a difference, and minimize the personal tragedy.

    Not sure if there is a partisan advantage for either camp. Definitely not one worth laughing about.

  4. inkslwc Says:

    I will say that if this hits New Orleans, I still think whatever is damaged should just be demolished and not rebuilt. New Orleans has been a disaster waiting to happen and got exceptionally lucky for years. Now the laws of probability are catching up to it.

  5. Jason Gillman Says:

    This Just in..

    Even fellow michigander Michael Moore is Happy.

    http://michigantaxes.com/wordpress/?p=413

  6. tpeagleman Says:

    Hard to believe the pettiness of people running our country. If this does not show the blatant disregard for people and the pursuit of power over everything else, I am not sure what does. Sickens me that we have politicians like this in this country.

  7. Jonnee Kohler Says:

    http://www.commondreams.org/view/2008/08/31-2

  8. dosaybe Says:

  9. Steven Says:

    I find it a act of stupidity! How can they find anything funny in this. Has the Democratic Party turned into a bunch of mean spirited people? I bet if were headed toward South Carolina it would not be funny moment! They should be ashamed of themselves and publically embarassed!
    I find my crossing over this election to vote for John McCain and Sarah Palin a lot easier to do now! If this is how Democrats act now a days maybe I’m in the wrong party after all.

  10. inkslwc Says:

    Jason, I think I knew about that, but I figured I wouldn’t insult the decent Democrats by lumping Mikey in with them.

    Jonnee, that video was already posted. See my comments above.

Leave a Reply

