Congratulations to Nastia Liukin and Shawn Johnson for the All Around Gymnastics Gold and Silver!

OK, well due to some technical difficulties, this is getting posted a LOT later than I’d hoped.  Orignially, this was going to be directly after the medal ceremony, but that didn’t work out:

Gymnastics has always been a sport that I’ve admired (and completely sucked at), due to the fact that in order to do well, you have to be able to do a LOT of stuff – uneven bars, balance beam, floor routines, etc… (perhaps I just admire athletes in sports I competely fail in: gymanstics and hockey).

So I just got done watching the women’s all-around competition for the Beijing Olympics, and I wanted to congratulate Nastia Liukin (middle) on her gold medal, and Shawn Johnson (right) on her silver medal.  I guess I should congratulate Michael Phelps for all of his medals too.  And congrats to all the American Olympists!

So, again, congrats to Nastia and Shawn (and Nastia is from TEXAS so that makes her awesome)!  The only thing that would make me a bigger fan of these 2 is if they were Republicans (and if anybody can find out whether they are or not [Shawn isn’t of voting age, so I doubt she’s too involved], you become my favorite reader of the week!).

Done Congratulating,

Ranting Republican
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! ::

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Congratulations to Nastia Liukin and Shawn Johnson for the All Around Gymnastics Gold and Silver!”

  1. Ghostrider Says:

    The girls did a great job. They really presented what the UNITED STATES is all about. The interviews they gave were short and to the point. Expressed how they felt and acknowledged one another showing true sportsmanship. WAY TO GO GIRLS!! Being from Texas I thought Nastia did a great job but I still favor Shawn. She is dynamite and I hope she perfects her routine and returns for the 2012 Olympiad.

    All of our teams did great and I am so proud that I am an American.

  2. inkslwc Says:

    Good point – the two have been very friendly throughout the whole competition, and in fact, they’re roommates in Beijing, and are friends outside of gymnastics as well.

    As for Shawn, all she needs to do is work on her gracefulness. She’s got the skills of the exercises down; she just needs to work on the gracefulness a little bit, and she’ll be the all-around gold in 2012.

  3. peter Says:

    Sorry to burst your bubble, but Shawn Johnson led the National Anthem at the 2008 Democratic National Convention.

    You probably already know this, but I just randomly came across your blog and saw it hadn’t been answered yet!

Leave a Reply

