Did Paris Hilton’s Response to McCain’s Ad Hurt McCain?

Alright, so as I posted about before, John McCain put out an ad called “Celeb” which shows Paris Hilton and Britney Spears, and compares Barack Obama to them, saying that he’s a celebrity.

Then Paris Hilton responded with the following ad (sorry, I can’t embed it – WordPress won’t let me, and I can’t upload it to YouTube: http://www.funnyordie.com/videos/64ad536a6d.

I thought it was pretty funny, and it was pretty amazing that she memorized all of that (in that short of time, even I’d have a tough time getting almost 2 minutes of script down).

Her energy policy was actually pretty good (and was proposed by several Democrats and Republicans in news interviews after the House failed to pass anything).

So, my question is, did that hurt McCain?  I thought McCain’s ad backfired, but many people (especially liberals) have said that they thought it was a successful ad, and pointed to a jump in the polls for McCain.  I’d really love your input on this.

McCain has since come out with a new ad, “Family,” which is a lot of the “Celeb” ad, minus the Paris/Britney pictures:

So, again, tell me what you think about McCain and Paris’s ads.

Done Polling,

Ranting Republican
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! ::

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Did Paris Hilton’s Response to McCain’s Ad Hurt McCain?”

  1. Janis Wallace Says:

    McCain’s silly ad did nothing but tie him (in all the headlines etc) to Paris Hilton. It’s his name, not Obama’s, that is now linked with Hilton & Spears.

  2. BTM Says:

  3. inkslwc Says:

    Alright, so that’s one vote with me, saying it hurt McCain.

  4. Ben K Says:

    I dont think it did. If anything it helped by getting Mccain’s original ad more publicity.

  5. inkslwc Says:

    True, but was that good publicity?

  6. Calvin Says:

    I don’t think it will hurt McCain. I think it will help in the long run. It is one of many messages that will chip away at the Obama luster, a process that has begun and is working. In the end, I can only hope that people will see that Obama has no accomplishments to his name and is not really offering anything substantive. A few buzz words probably won’t be enough in the end.

  7. Bob Says:

    I think this one of those times when the old saying “any publicity is good publicity” is wrong. When you’re getting publicity because you were out-smarted by Paris Hilton that is definitely bad publicity.

  8. Paris Hilton Says:

    This type of publicity will only help for those who are not in limelight. At this moment McCain is at the center of atraction and this is not the best way to stress his points further.

  9. Aiko Vivion Says:

    I think paris is a beautiful woman i’ve seen so far..

Leave a Reply

