A Reflection on Independence Day 2008

So, I wrote early yesterday morning, a Happy Fourth of July post, and decided to just reflect on my day today.

Again, I had to work (double shift on a holiday = LOTS of money, which I desperately need).  I saw the DSO’s Salute to America again, and it just makes me happy to hear the patriot songs, followed by the 1812 Overture.  When I got home, I walked outside, and just looked up into the sky, listening to the sounds of parties still going on, illegal fireworks going off in the neighborhood, taking in the smell of back-yard “campfires.”  I just stared at the stars, and a bunch of wispy cirrus clouds moving in, making it just a beautiful night.  And I just started thinking about America and our independence, and it just made me happy.  But at the same time, there are troops overseas who can’t enjoy this happiness here at home, and that made me feel terribly sad.  I love this time of year, but it’s also an emotional time for me.  I don’t know why, but the subject of soldiers is just emotional for me.

I stayed out there for probably a half hour, just thinking about all of this, and even though Independence Day is officially over (at least in Michigan), I’d encourage everyone to just go outside and reflect a little.  It’s a nice break from everyday routines.

Done Ranting,

Ranting Republican
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! ::

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “A Reflection on Independence Day 2008”

  1. Celebrating the 4th of July … blogging style! | U.S. Common Sense Says:

    […] Republican Ranting:  “A Reflection on Independence Day 2008″ […]

  2. Nick Says:

    Same sort of feelings here. Every 4th my mom’s side of the family has a big giant get-together out on Lake Bella Vista in Rockford (at my aunt’s house) and we have a good time. BBQ, basketball, the boat on the lake, swimming, a trampoline, you name it.

    But before the party started my boy’s Tom and Josh both got on an airplane out of Grand Rapids bound, after a quick layover, for Kuwait and then Iraq. They’d been home for a week on leave and now they’re back in-theatre. Love those guys. Can’t say thanks enough.

    –Nick
    http://www.RightMichigan.com

Leave a Reply

