A Thank You and Tribute to Our Troops on Memorial Day

First, I would like to take this opportunity on Memorial Day to thank our troops who are currently serving overseas, whether that be in Iraq, Afghanistan, Somalia, Australia, Germany, South Korea, or wherever, and those who are serving here at home.

Second, I would like to thank those who have given the ultimate sacrifice, their lives, to protect the freedom of this and other countries.  You’re sacrifices will never be forgotten by me, and I hope that they will never be forgotten by ANY American.

Third, I would like to reach out to the families of those serving in the armed forces, and those who have lost loved ones.  I have friends overseas.  I know what it is like to see friends leave, and although I have never lost a friend (thank God), it is still hard to see friends go overseas.  God bless you all as you go through one of the hardest times of your lives.

I feel that many people don’t appreciate, or at least take for granted, the sacrifices that so many have given to protect this country.  For instance, while at work today, we had a 1 minute moment of silence throughout the entire complex at 3:00 P.M.  For the most part, it was completely silent.  30 seconds into it, the manager of my department starts talking on the radio.  The same manager who had come around telling everybody to make sure that we observed the moment of silence was now blabbering on about something irrelevant in the middle of the moment of silence.  After the minute was over, I overheard some of the manager’s assistants who were at my location talking about how shocked they were that that happened.

And this is the attitude that has spread to a large part of America.  Sure, we celebrate Memorial Day with hot dogs and hamburgers and a day off work (well, not for me).  But how many of these people have a flag flying in their yard or a yard sign supporting the troops?  Not enough.

Be thankful that we’ve gone this long without a major war.  Be thankful that we’ve gone this long without a war that has threatened us here on our very soil.  Be thankful that we have men and women willing to fight for our safety.

I’d like to leave you with a video of Tim McGraw’s song “Already Home”:

God Bless America, and more importantly, God bless our troops, living and fallen, and their families, who are serving America today, and who have served America the past 232 years.

Done Thanking,

Republican Ranting
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! ::

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “A Thank You and Tribute to Our Troops on Memorial Day”

  1. stushie Says:

    Memorial Day Sonnet

    If Liberty means anything to me,
    I will remember what my freedom cost,
    By those who gave their all to keep me free,
    Whose lives were sacrificed, but never lost.
    I will remind myself of what they did,
    And keep them dearly cherished in my heart;
    Their honor never from me shall be hid
    And I will know they always did their part
    To save our nation and its people here,
    To pledge their lives in defense of our ways,
    To show that freedom always outlives fear,
    And sacrifice is hallowed all our days.
    If Liberty means anything to me,
    I will remember those who kept me free.

    © John Stuart 2008
    Pastor at Erin Presbyterian Church,
    Knoxville, Tennessee

    Audio at:
    [audio src="http://media.libsyn.com/media/stushie/Memorial_Day.mp3" /]

  2. Nick Says:

    Ditto, RR. Ditto.

    –Nick
    http://www.RightMichigan.com

  3. cc4prez Says:

    I wholeheartedly agree that we should take a moment of silence for deceased troops (even though I totally disagree with the Iraq War), but what about the over 1 million Iraqi civilians who have died in their own country? No one over here seems to cry for them, and their only crime was that they happened to be standing around when the nearest IED blew up. At least our troops signed up for the war.

  4. inkslwc Says:

    Hey – I disagree with the Iraq War too. I’m a Chuck Hagel supporter. Don’t assume that the “R” means pro-Iraq War.

  5. COLLEEN VANBUREN Says:

    IT SHOULDN’T MATTER THAT POLITICAL SIDE YOU ARE ON.. I AM ON THE PRAYING MY HUSBAND COMES HOME TO US IN ONE PEACE SIDE. WEOTHER YOU WORK BEHIND A DESK IN CIVILIAN WORLD OR HOLD A GUN IN YOUR HAND IN THE MILITARY GOD LOVES US ALL AND WE SHOULD NEVER LOOSE SIGHT OF THAT. I TELL MY LITTLE GIRLS DADDY WILL BE HOME AND THEY ARE VERY PROUD OF THEIR DAD. THEY FEEL VERY WELL PROTECTED. I AM VERY PROUD OF OUR SOLDIERS. POLITICS WILL ALWAYS BE JUST POLITICS. YOUR LOVED ONE FIGHTING OVER THERE WILL ALWAYS BE A HERO. GOD BLESS OUR SOLDIERS HERE AND GONE… NEVER WILL BE FORGOTTEN..

Leave a Reply

