Clinton’s Justification for Staying in the Race: “Bobby Kennedy was assassinated in June”

Alright, I haven’t had time to post in a while, so I’d like to start off by wishing Senator Kennedy the best of luck as he deals with his health problems.  Although I can’t stand him personally, nobody should go through what he is going through.

Now, on to the news … earlier this week, Clinton responded to a question from the Sioux Falls, South Dakota, Argus Leader editorial board about her dropping out by saying, “My husband did not wrap up the nomination in 1992 until he won the California primary somewhere in the middle of June, right?  We all remember Bobby Kennedy was assassinated in June in California.  You know I just, I don’t understand it.”

Yikes.  I mean, it wasn’t an extremely terrible statement, but it was inappropriate to use that as a memory for how long campaigns go.  I mean, that’s like Ben Stiller talking about Zoolander coming out in the same month as the September 11th attacks – it’s not really relevant (true, Clinton was talking about 2 campaigns, but there are lots of campaigns that have extended until June).  There were plenty of other events in 1968 that Clinton could’ve talked about.

Apparently this isn’t the first time Clinton has brought up the assassination.  She told Time magazine back in March, “Primary contests used to last a lot longer.  We all remember the great tragedy of Bobby Kennedy being assassinated in June in L.A. My husband didn’t wrap up the nomination in 1992 until June, also in California.  Having a primary contest go through June is nothing particularly unusual.”  At least she said it a little more tastefully there.

Obama spokesman Bill Burton quickly capitalized on the poor wording, saying, “Senator Clinton’s statement before the Argus Leader editorial board was unfortunate and has no place in this campaign.”

Clinton spokesman Mo Elleithee responded by saying that Clinton was simply using Bill and Kennedy “as historical examples of the nominating process going well into the summer and any reading into it beyond that would be inaccurate and outrageous.”

Clinton came out and told reporters, “I regret that if my referencing that moment of trauma for our entire nation and in particular the Kennedy family was in any way offensive.  I certainly had no intention of that whatsoever. … I was discussing the Democratic primary history and in the course of that discussion mentioned the campaigns of both my husband and Senator Kennedy waged in California in June in 1992 and 1968 and I was referencing those to make the point that we have had nomination primary contests that go into June.  That’s a historic fact.  The Kennedys have been much on my mind the last days because of Senator Kennedy.  I regret that if my referencing that moment of trauma for our entire nation and in particular the Kennedy family was in any way offensive.  I certainly had no intention of that whatsoever.  My view is that we have to look to the past to our leaders who have inspired us, give us a lot to live up to, and I’m honored to hold Senator Kennedy’s seat in the United States Senate from the state of New York and have the highest regard for the Kennedy family.”

Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL-Obama) told reporters, “I know Hillary Clinton, and the last thing in the world she’d ever want is to wish misfortune on anybody. She and Barack are friends.  It was … a careless remark and we’ll leave it at that.”

I’ll agree with Durbin (YIKES!).  I mean, it’s not like Obama hasn’t had his poor-wording-moments; I just think Clinton has had more.

Done Ranting,

Ranting Republican
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! ::

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Clinton’s Justification for Staying in the Race: “Bobby Kennedy was assassinated in June””

  1. Clinton Calls Rumors of Her Being Obama’s Vice President “Flatly Untrue” « Republican Ranting Says:

    […] Vice President “Flatly Untrue” Late last week, while apologizing for her comments about Bobby Kennedy, Clinton also addressed rumors that she has been in secret talks with the Obama campaign about her […]

Leave a Reply

