Clinton to Obama: Screw You! I’m Taking This to Convention

In an interview with the Associated Press today in Florida, Clinton told reporters, “Yes I will [support Michigan and Florida if they appeal an unfavorable rules committee decision to the convention floor].  I will, because I feel very strongly about this.  I will consult with Floridians and the voters in Michigan because it’s really their voices that are being ignored and their votes that are being discounted, and I’ll support whatever the elected officials and the voters in those two states want to do. … It [the race] could [go beyond June 3rd], I hope it doesn’t.  I hope it’s resolved to everyone’s satisfaction by that date, because that’s what people are expecting, but we’ll have to see what happens. … [Floridians] learned the hard way what happens when your votes aren’t counted and the candidate with fewer votes is declared the winner.  The lesson of 2000 here in Florida is crystal clear: If any votes aren’t counted, the will of the people isn’t realized and our democracy is diminished.  The people who voted did nothing wrong and it would be wrong to punish you.”

There’s also a video of a speech available here, but I only have dial-up right now, and my sound card uninstalled itself, and Dell abandoned me, so I have no clue if it matches the quotes I just gave:

AP Video

If somebody wants to find the video for me, I’ll love you forever.

Um, I should note – the primary process is anything but democratic.  With all the delegates and proportionality by Congressional District (instead of statewide) and thresholds, it’s not democratic, it’s complex algebra.

So, yes, I’m now very hopeful and excited.  If Clinton takes this to convention, McCain wins immediately.  I won’t even have to do phone calls for him.  GO CLINTON!

Done Ranting,

Ranting Republican
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! ::

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Clinton to Obama: Screw You! I’m Taking This to Convention”

  1. goodtimepolitics Says:

    Good for Hillary, fighting to the end, Obama will have to come down off his baby high chair!🙂
    http://goodtimepolitics.com/2008/05/21/hillary-threatens-dire-consequences/

  2. Ben K Says:

    I wouldnt say he would win immediateltly if there was a convention fight, but it would make his job easier.

    This election will probably comne down to if McCain can get enough Clinton backers to vote for him. Time will tell.

  3. inkslwc Says:

    They don’t have to vote for McCain; they just have to not come out and vote.

Leave a Reply

