Why Pro-Lifers Should Vote for John McCain: From a Pro-Life Prospective

I’ve just gotten done with what seems like my 500th debate with a pro-lifer who claims they won’t vote for McCain.  Now, I myself am extremely pro-life (no abortions, not even under circumstances of rape, incest, or mother’s life [except tubal pregnancies where it is impossible for the baby to survive], no embryonic stem cell research, etc…).  I would NOT vote for Rudy Giuliani, and I will vote for a pro-life Democrat over a pro-choice Republican.  Being pro-life has ALWAYS been important to me, since I was a little kid, and this election is no different.

Many pro-lifers say that McCain isn’t pro-life enough enough, especially when it comes to embryonic stem cells.  I’ll give them that – I am saddened that McCain supports experiments that have so far yielded ZERO productive results, but McCain is not an advocate of ESC research, McCain is an advocate of what works, and as it is shown more and more that adult SCs are yielding results, I think he will begin to oppose ESC research.

Now, McCain’s voting record.  I have heard the argument that his voting record is not pro-life enough.  I always respond, “Other than ESC research, show me one pro-choice thing he has voted for. [Silent pause] That’s because he hasn’t.”  In the 109th Congress, McCain had a 75% voting record from the National Right to Life Committee (NRLC) and a 0% rating from the National Abortion Rights Action League (NARAL Pro-Choice America).  Meanwhile, Obama and Clinton have been rated 0% by the NRLC and 100% by NARAL.

The reason that a lot of pro-lifers are saying that they won’t vote for McCain is that “We need to turn the party around and teach Republicans a lesson that they can’t do this again.”  Well, I have a problem with that, and it’s called the Supreme Court.  The next President will nominate one Justice for sure (to replace John Paul Stevens), and most likely another (to replace Ruth Bader Ginsburg).  Both of those justices are pro-choice.

If the pro-life religious right wants to teach the Republican Party a lesson, do NOT do it during a time when Roe v. Wade could be overturned.  2 pro-life Justices would change the Court from a 4-5 pro-life vote to a 6-3 pro-life vote.  If you ask me, teaching a lesson to a party should NOT be done at the expense of millions of helpless babies.

I recently heard Rocky Raczkowski (Michigan Representative who was planning on running for Senate until he got called back to serve in the Army), and he said, “If pro-life voters don’t vote for John McCain, shame on them,” and I agree.

Even if McCain appoints pro-choice judges, how is that any worse than what Clinton or Obama would do?  Why should we risk letting somebody that we KNOW for SURE will appoint pro-choice justices to the bench?  I would vote for McCain if there were only a 10% chance in him appointing somebody pro-life, over Clinton or Obama where that chance is 0.0000001% (you never know how the Justice will vote until they actually vote), but McCain himself has said he’ll appoint a pro-life person.  On other occasions, he’s said that he will appoint somebody like John Roberts or Samuel Alito, and that he would use the same people that Bush used to find Justices like that.

If you are pro-life, and you vote against John McCain / don’t vote, and Obama or Clinton (Obama will be the nominee) gets elected by a slim margin, the blood of those innocent babies will be on your conscience.

Now is not the time to send a message to the party.  Do that when millions of lives aren’t at stake.

(My apologies if any of this doesn’t make sense – I just got back from oral surgery and I’m on vicodin right now, so if something just doesn’t make any sense, leave a comment and I’ll revise it when I’m all with it.)

Done Ranting,

Ranting Republican
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! ::

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Why Pro-Lifers Should Vote for John McCain: From a Pro-Life Prospective”

  1. unbornwordoftheday Says:

    My husband and I have been active in the pro-life movement since 1973 – John McCain has always been considered pro-life. One of the reasons that his voting record is only 75% is because of McCain/Feingold legislation (Campaign Finance Reform). Pro-lifer’s wanted it defeated but it is not actually a pro-abortion piece of legislation – it is a anti free speech piece of legislation. So his vote for that legislation is in part what has put him at 75%. His main defection has been on the embryonic stem cell issue – I believe he has always been against cloning for research Some (like Sam Brownback) think that because of the new developments in research that he is rethinking his position and will eventually come out against any kind of embryonic stem cell research. I think many of us who have watched him over the years do believe that there is a good if not perfect chance that he will nominate good judges.

  2. inkslwc Says:

    Actually, it was the embryonic stem cell research that put him at 75%. There were only 4 bills that the NRLC took into effect, so 75% isn’t really a good indicator. I actually decided to use the 2005-2006 session, since this year, he’s at 66%. 2-1, and 3 votes just aren’t enough for me to base it on. So far for 2007-2008, there’s 7 bills that are put into their rating, but he’s been absent for 4 of them. I do know that had he have been there, he would have voted for one of them, because it was nearly identical to a bill he voted for before.

    McCain/Feingold was in 2002, and I didn’t check his rating that far back.

    You do reiterate a good point about the ESCs. Unlike the liberals, he doesn’t want to just throw government money at ESC research. He wants to put money only where it will work, unlike the Democrats who take it from us and throw it all over the place.

  3. inkslwc Says:

    I did go back and look up his 2002 record. He received a 33% rating, because McCain-Feingold and Shays-Mehan (similr to McCain Feingold) took up 2 of the 3 votes. Personally I disagree with including those in the rating, but he did vote for a ban of abortions on military bases. So again, although I hate McCain-Feingold, I don’t think it should’ve been included in the NRLC’s criteria.

  4. Religious Right Movement Leaders Leaning Toward Supporting McCain « Republican Ranting Says:

    […] love, in fact, RR leaders such as Dobson have said that they may not vote for McCain.  I did a post a couple months ago about why pro-lifers should vote for McCain, so I won’t go into details about why I think conservative evangelicals should vote for […]

Leave a Reply

