Senator Hagel Discusses Iraq, Presidential Election, & Book on CNN

Today, Senator Chuck Hagel (R-NE), America’s best Senator, and my favorite politician, was on The Situation Room with Wolf Blitzer yesterday, discussing the Iraq War, the 2008 Election, and his new book (which I cannot wait to buy!), America: Our Next Chapter: Tough Questions, Straight Answers.  Here’s a video of the interview:

That man is awesome!  What none of the Presidential candidates seem to get is the fact that Iraq has to fix itself – we just need to stay and supervise – we can’t force Iraq to fix itself.  That’s why I loved Hagel’s plan to move the troops to the border and let the Iraqis deal with the civil unrest.  Then we could be out in a relatively short time, instead of staying there for decades while trying to do the job that Iraqis need to be doing.

I really wish he would’ve run for President, or at least stayed in the Senate.  I stumbled across his retirement speech, which one of his greatest (and saddening for me at the same time) speeches:

I have told Senator Hagel that if he ever runs for office, I’ll be the first one to support him – I’ll re-start the Michigan and Students blogs.

There has been a rumor that he might be a possible candidate for Secretary of Defense in an Obama cabinet.  Although I do NOT want an Obama Presidency, having Hagel as Secretary of Defense would make me really happy.

Senator Hagel, you’re a great American – God bless you.

Done Ranting,

Ranting Republican
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! ::

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

