Update on the Detroit Mayor Kwame Kilpatrick Scandal

OK, well details are coming out of this thing faster than details about the 2008 primaries.  See here for my previous post: https://inkslwc.wordpress.com/2008/01/26/detroit-mayor-kwame-kilpatrick-involved-in-another-scandal/.

So, here are the new details:

  1. Monday, January 28th
    1. Chief of Staff Christine Beatty, Kilpatrick’s alleged (and late confirmed) mistress resigned.
      1. In response, Council President Pro Tem Monica Conyers (acting president while Ken Cockrel Jr. is over seas) and Councilwoman JoAnn Watson said that the council should not wait for Wayne County Prosecutor Kym Worthy’s investigation to be finished, buth that the Council should also conduct its own investigation.
    2. Sharon McPhail, a former Councilwoman and opponent of Kilpatrick’s during his last reelection campaign, who is now one of his top aides said that “I’d just be awfully surprised if this resulted in any charges.  I just don’t think it’s there. … When the facts are known this is just going to be a blip on the screen of all the wonderful things he’s done for the city.”  HUH!!!  What screen is she looking at?  Is she forgetting about the “blips” from the Manoogian Mansion party, the death of stripper Tamara Greene, the Red Lincoln Navigator, the controversy over his civic fund (the time that he threw Ray Sayah’s microphone – yeah, he must hate WXYZ), the whistleblower trial that sparked this scandal, or the time that his guards threw Steve Wilson into a wall?  Even my hardcore Democratic grandma can’t stand him.
  2. Tuesday, January 29th
    1. Kilpatrick hired Kandia Milton, an aide, as his new Chief of Staff, saying that he “has proved his skills as my deputy chief of staff and as my liaison with the City Council and I know he will do an exceptional job in this new assignment.  He has worked effectively with Council on a number of initiatives and has shown an ability to develop cooperative, productive relationships that will be valuable in this new assignment.”
      Milton responded by saying, “I am grateful to the Mayor for giving me the opportunity to serve the people of Detroit in this capacity.  I know that under the Mayor Kilpatrick’s leadership, Detroit’s best days are yet to come.”
    2. A proposal brought up by Conyers and Watson in the City Council to perform an investigation was defeated.  Only Watson voted for the proposal.  Most Councilmembers, such as Kwame Kenyatta opposed the measure due to the absence of Cockrel and Councilwomen Martha Reeves and Alberta Tinsley-Talabi (who are in Taiwwan on a trade mission), while Conyers said that she want to hold a closed meeting first.
  3. Wednesday, January 30th
    1. On his way to his televised public apology, Kilpatrick pushed reporter Steve Wilson out of the way and swung at the camera of Mandi Wright, causing the camera to hit her in her face.  Unlike Kilpatrick’s previous encounter with Wilson, I think that Kilpatrick was somewhat justified in moving him out of the way, but not for swinging at Wright’s camera.
    2. That night he gave an apology speech with his wife (available here in full: http://www.freep.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20080131/NEWS01/801310429/1003):

      Good evening, Detroit.  I want to start tonight by saying to the citizens of this great city, I’m sorry.  To all of you who have believed in what we’ve been doing here since 2002, to all of you who have believed in me, in my leadership, to all of you who have stuck with me through very difficult times, to all of you who prayed for me: I’m sorry.

      For the embarrassment and the disappointment the events of the past few days have caused you, for what you as my supporters, many of you, have had to hear as you traveled around our city to beauty shops and barbershops, what you had to hear when you were in church this past Sunday from people who know that you have supported me.

      For those of you who have not always been Kwame Kilpatrick supporters (isn’t this most of the city?), but who lift up our city, who live in our city, who support this town in various ways, I truly apologize to each and every one of you individually and to the whole city.

      Most of all tonight, I want to make a public apology to my entire family, and specifically to the four people who I love the most in this world.

      First, I want to apologize to my sons, Jelani, Jalil and Jonas. For the first time in my life, I had to have a conversation with my 12-year-old twin sons about very grown-up things. It was, without a doubt, the hardest conversation that I’ve ever had in my entire life.

      Finally, and most importantly, I want to make a public apology to my wife, Carlita, who I fell in love with when I was 19 years old. We decided to build a family together, and we did that.

      Our marriage has not been perfect, but it has been great. Now, I put her in a situation which many couples deal with in the privacy of their own homes, but in our case, it’s on the front page of the newspaper. This dynamic, strong, caring woman has been forced to go through this very difficult experience because of me. I truly apologize to you.

      As many of you know, I’m not the type of person who displays my emotions in public, but I have to tell you I’ve felt more emotion in the last week than I have in the past 20 years. I’ve been truly hurting. I’ve been hurting because I know that many of you are hurting. And most of all, I’ve been hurting because I know my family is hurting. And I’m responsible for that.

      Over the past few days, there’s been some speculation about who is in charge of the city. Make no mistake about it, since 2002, I have been in charge of the city (unfortunately).

      There have been ups and downs, there have been hills and mountains and valleys, but through it all, I remained in charge of the city (what ups?). I believe we built a team here that understands the mission and focus and commitment that we must have to serve our citizens. We’ve done some amazing things, but we have a lot of work left to do (in 5 years, you’re gonna be blown away?).

      Over the past few days, there has also been a lot of speculation about me resigning from office. Let me be clear tonight: I would never quit on you (trust me, nobody would see it as that – they’d be happy). Ever. We’ve got a lot of work to do, and with your help, I’m going to continue to lead this city in getting the work done. I am truly blessed and grateful that my wife is beside me tonight, and she has some personal remarks of her own to make.

      Detroit, I am determined that we will keep moving forward. I am determined to continue the tremendous progress we are making in this city, in the worst economic conditions since the Great Depression.

      Detroit, together we have managed to do great things. We have paved more streets than ever, we have built more new houses than ever. We have balanced our budget and wiped out a $300-million deficit.

      We have developed 75 buildings downtown, large and small, we have built seven new hotels, we have built three new rec centers in neighborhoods that have not seen rec centers in 20 years . We are building out our riverfront, and we are not stopping now (I’ll give him these things – that’s been a great improvement to Detroit).

      Detroit, please continue to pray for our family, for our city and for our continued progress. God bless you, Detroit. I love you, and I’ll see you at work tomorrow.

      The thing that stuck out to me the most here is the part that I bolded. Nowhere does he say that he’s hurting because he cheated on his wife or because he hurt his family, but becaue his family is hurting and the people of Detroit are hurting. He doesn’t admit that he’s the cause of this hurt and it makes it sound like the only reason that he’s sorry is because he got caught (which is probably true considering how many strippers in and out of Detroit he’s been involved with before).

  4. Thursday, January 31st
    1. Kwame Kilpatrick reports for work as usual.
    2. Some people weighed in on the Mayor’s speech:
      1. Diane Murphy from Sterling Heights: “Perjury’s not private.  I wanted him to say, ‘I lied and I’m sorry.  I screwed up.’  In his personal life, he may be squared away, but not his professional life.”
      2. Others were upset about the loss of the $9 million.
      3. Still others sypathized with Beatty (why – she wasn’t a scapegoat, she was his MISTRESS!).
      4. Stephen Henderson, a Free Press columnist said, “This is about sex with an employee.  About the ruined careers of three police officers.  About lies told under oath, in a courtroom.  And about $9 million in public money that was spent to settle lawsuits inspired by his personal behavior.”
  5. Saturday, February 2nd
    1. Norman Yatooma, an attorney representing Jonathan Bond, the son of Tamara Greene (a stripper known as Strawberry), who was shot on April 30th, 2003.  Yatooma is representing Bond in a federal lawsuit which claims that both police and citiy officials covered up her death.  Former Police Lt. Alvin Bowman said in a lawsuit that city officials transferred him out of the homicide division because he was investigating how Greene was killed.  She was rumored to have performed at the infamous Manoogian Mansion party in the fall of 2002.  (At the time, Attorney General Mike Cox dismissed the rumor as just a rumor.)  Bowman later left the department citing stress leave and then sued the city.  Bowman was awarded $200,000 for the lawsuit.  Now Yatooma is asking SkyTel to provide copies of incoming and outgoing text messages and calls, originating from any Detroit SkyTel messaging device from a list of 34 people.  Kilpatrick, his bodyguards Mike Martin and Loronzo Jones, Christine Beatty, former Police Chief Jerry Oliver, Police Chief Ella Bully-Cummings, and Alvin Bowman are all on the list. 

And that’s what all has happened in Detroit involving Kilpatrick these past few days.

I think Kilpatrick will get investigated by the Council eventually, and will be impeached if he doesn’t eventually resign.  There’s no way he can avoid it – he perjured.  He admitted to this – he said he cheated, and that means he perjured.  He needs to be booted, and so do half of his corrupt associates, like Police Chief Ella Bully-Cummings.

Done Ranting,

Ranting Republican
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: ::

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 Responses to “Update on the Detroit Mayor Kwame Kilpatrick Scandal”

  1. Bill Couzens Says:

    http://lesscancer.blogspot.com/2008/02/detroit_02.html

    Detroit…911

    BY BILL COUZENS. Lesscancer.org Founder

    “I like to see a man proud of the place in which he lives. I like to see a man live so that his place will be proud of him.”
    Abraham Lincoln.

    Authors Note:

    While born in Detroit I am moved yet conflicted by Mr. Lincoln’s words, as I want to be proud of Detroit. However, I am torn and distressed by Detroit and it’s conditions in which people are forced to live. For this reason Detroit torments me.
    Bill Couzens

    To be proud of Detroit as it stands today is not to address its extreme conditions.

    For instance, in the work and movement toward preventing cancer-causing environmental exposures, the one thing advocates have discovered across the board is that if you want to see cancer thrive be poor.

    While cancer seems to know no boundaries rich or poor, young or old, cancer seems to have its most successful wars when poverty is involved, for those who are poor are least likely to have access to good nutrition, suitable living conditions and health care.

    Poverty must be considered when looking for ways to prevent cancer.

    Detroit seemingly only expands its health care to meet the rapidly growing needs of poverty related illnesses.

    Detroit is so under siege that talk of prevention to someone standing in the midst of what seems like a third world battlefield would seem like an out-of-touch fantasy.

    But poverty should not be the reason to not discuss prevention.

    For poverty is not a reason to not bother, but is in my mind every reason to bother.

    Detroiters have this uncanny instinct to long be able to see the light at the end of the tunnel even when those who may be leading the line have long lost their flame.

    However, the time has come for Detroiters to stop following the candle without the flame but rather to turn around and go to the light.

    Detroiter’s need the confidence to know that government is on their side and working for them, not against them. That confidence will not come until Detroit’s leadership is redefined. A warm body is not the solution, but rather a leader that follows its people, who unites all people, for in Detroit Detroiters must come first.

    Detroiter’s need to understand they deserve prosperity, they deserve leadership that will take Detroiters to the top, not push them to the bottom.

    Detroiters are facing the height of a century-long battle of poverty, fighting with little more than a sense of hope and integrity which, while admirable, is not sufficient considering the make-shift wild west town in which they attempt to survive.

    And while easy to do, Detroit’s issues are too many, too complicated and too longstanding to start blaming.

    Its is far too arrogant to sit back in the comfort of one’s home and start circling Detroit’s imperfections.

    The reality is that Detroit is a city where there are children and the elderly who have no shelter and go hungry. Its not humane.

    Detroit’s gifts are it people, people who have hope, a sense of community and the unspoken connection as Detroiters.

    People with a conscience do need to speak up about Detroit. Whether they are from Detroit or not, what is happening in Detroit is not humane. They need to say out loud what’s happening in Detroit is not right, that in America it needs to be different, that it can be better. If leadership were to commit to making it better for it citizens, the rest will come.

    To ignore the dark depths of Detroit’s poverty is to ignore the needs of individuals that are not faceless. Detroiters do have faces, they have lives and families, and they are human.

    THE WALLS MUST COME DOWN.

    Detroit leadership on all fronts, beyond elected officials, needs to engage and call on all helping hands to save the doomed city.

    Detroit needs the best brains on board, problem solvers willing to work out of their comfort zone, leaders from neighborhoods, corporations, faith based, government and healthcare organizations.

    The walls must come down to advance Detroit as a city and to save its citizens. For too long we have been speaking and working within our own comfort zones.

    Round tables of executives at clubs, while well intended, are not the recipe for bringing change to Detroit.

    We need to not only bring down walls but cross barriers to unify to all of us who wish to see a healthier Detroit.

    Detroit needs a collaborative model that will include all of Michigan, its citizens, industry and government and community, collaboratives made up of individuals and organizations. For too long those models have been about special interests, profit and power. Detroit’s collaboratives need to be about empowerment for all, opportunity for all.

    This is time when Detroiters need to be working smarter not harder. This is a time when we need to be calling on all of Detroit past and present to make the difference.

  2. marcus Says:

    kwame is an ass hole for what he is doing i dont live in detroit but i feel for the peple who have to put up with his stupid actions

  3. inkslwc Says:

    They reelected him after all of his scandals in his first term though – it amazes me that it took Detroiters this long to finally get angry at him.

  4. Sunshine Says:

    I have been on a run since 203 after I first blew the whiistle about this and Grosse Pointe Park:

    Now what is going to happen to me?
    I need andswers and Help as well:

    No Lawyer will talk to me, Because they feel there is too nuch invoild.

    Well my life is in the hands of God, But the devil has taken me for his last ride.

  5. inkslwc Says:

    Blew the whistle on what in Grosse Pointe Park?

  6. Sunshine Says:

    I have been on a run since 2003 after I first blew the whistle about this and Grosse Pointe Park:

    Now, what is going to happen to me?
    I need andswers and Help as well:

    No Lawyer will talk to me, Because they feel there is too much invoild.

    Well my life is in the hands of God, But the devil has taken me for his last ride.

    Could someone answer me Please.

    Cal 313-685-6117

    And Grosse Pointe Park is invoild in this as well.
    I was forced out of my place of business and apartment above it in January 2002, Before I saw a Judge I was locked out, The FBI and DEA can and Busted my landlord and his son John Brosnan. for tons of Pot being delervered to him.

    While I had a business I leased from him that was falling apart and over paid him rent of 200.00 a month for 4 years.
    I paid 1500.00 a month when it should have been 1200.00 a month, Now I have health issues because of the building being filled with toxin, Mold, Bus Fumes and More.

    I wrote to Mike Cox and Granholm and they advised me to move in case something happened and it did, He got busted and Locked me out before I got to see the Judge March the 5th, He was busted on March 1st.

  7. Sunshine Says:

    I have been on a run since 2003 after I first blew the whistle about this and Grosse Pointe Park:

    Now, what is going to happen to me?
    I need andswers and Help as well:

    No Lawyer will talk to me, Because they feel there is too much invoild.

    Well my life is in the hands of God, But the devil has taken me for his last ride.

    Could someone answer me Please.

    Cal 313-685-6117

    And Grosse Pointe Park is invoild in this as well.
    I was forced out of my place of business and apartment above it in January 2003, Before I saw the Judge I was locked out of my home and Buisness, The FBI and DEA came and Busted my landlord and his son John Brosnan. for tons of Pot being delervered to him.

    While I had a business I leased from him that was falling apart and over paid him rent of 200.00 a month for 4 years.
    I paid 1500.00 a month when it should have been 1200.00 a month, Now I have health issues because of the building being filled with toxin, Mold, Bus Fumes and More.

    I wrote to Mike Cox and Granholm and they advised me to move in case something happened and it did, He ( My Landlord ) got busted and Locked me out before I got to see the Judge on March the 5th, 2003 He was busted on March 1st. 2003. The laywer I had did noothing for me only told me to sit down and say nothing she will do all the talking.

    In which she did nothing to help me.

  8. inkslwc Says:

    OK, I lost you – how is Grosse Pointe Park involved in any of this?

  9. LiYaya Says:

    What ever happened to being innocent until proven guilty. I sympathize for the family of Tamara Greene and I also sympathize for the Mayor of Detroit and his family. Why won’t we allow the justice system to do it’s job. Until charges are brought against anyone who is and was involved in any type of illegal practice, can we please get back to other important issues in our city and state. Every morning and every evening my daughter has to pass a vacant garage and vacant home where drugs are being sold 24/7. I’m afraid that some young boy or girl may become a rape victim due to the nature of the property. Every night my grandmother can’t sleep because drug dealers are out all night yelling and chasing cars. I want all liable parties, if any to be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. I want to see the death of Tamara “Strawberry” Greene” solved and her killers bought to justice. I want the media to start reporting the news so that I am aware of what is going on in my immediate surroundings. I would like for the media to cease all efforts to give the City of Detroit a black eye by forwarding and selling our news to their conglomurates and affiliates. I want justice for all, more importantly I want peace. I want to know that I am protected, I don’t need to know about what was read in a Kwame text message every 2 minutes through a breaking news story. The City of Detroit has to continue to effectively run its day-to-day operations and it is being done. People are so quick to judge. Only God can judge. Let’s report the facts people. I don’t know what the truth is and neither do you. Once a formal indictment/charges have been handed down. A panel will be able to decide the fate of the mayor and ultimately the city. Mike Cox is no stranger to scandal and his statements today were out of line considering his recent scandal and even he didn’t step down. Innocent until proven guilty.

  10. inkslwc Says:

    First – he admitted to having an affair. He denied it while under oath before – a jury doesn’t need to find you guilty for anybody to know that that’s perjury.

    And about Mike Cox – he had an affair, but never lied under oath. I could care less about the affair – it’s the fact that he perjured. Innocent until proven guilty, but Kilpatrick confessed that he had an affair. All I did was add 2+2 to get 4.

  11. one4children Says:

    While many supporters of Mayor Kilpatrick are upset at the media and others who want him to resign, I wish they would realize that this is all it is, a resignation. His supporters say do not throw stones, remember what Jesus said. They difference is, in biblical times, they were trying to kill someone. Mayor Kilpatrick is being fired, not stoned or killed. He will still be able to work somewhere else and play somewhere else, just not at City Hall. I want justice for Jonathon.

  12. inkslwc Says:

    It doesn’t even have to do with killing somebody – the point is that he was a government official, so he is to be held to a higher standard. And sure, we shouldn’t throw stones, but impeaching/recalling him is following the legal process of getting a corrupt official out of office.

  13. sweetgeorgia Says:

    read Walt Harris deposition over 300 pages but the last 1/4 has some interesting details

    http://firejerryo.com/

Leave a Reply

