Florida Primary Results as of 11:00 P.M.: McCain, Clinton Win

OK, here’s my last update for the night.  As of 11:00 P.M., here’s the Florida primary results:

For the Democrats with 94% reporting:

  1. Clinton 832,635 50%
  2. Obama 552,421 33%
  3. Edwards 242,294 14%
  4. Kucinich 9,272 1%

And here are the results for the Republicans with 94% also reporting:

  1. McCain 675,961 36%
  2. Romney 581,740 31%
  3. Giuliani 274,943 15%
  4. Huckabee 253,233 14%
  5. Paul 60,388 3%
  6. Thompson 21,734 1%
  7. Hunter 2,697 0%

No delegates will be awarded to the Democrats, since they broke DNC rules.  57 delegates will be awarded to McCain, since Florida is a winner take all state (that’s half of the original 114, since they broke RNC rules).

Giuliani is expected to drop out and endorse McCain, which practically ends this race unless McCain kills kittens on live TV.  What now becomes important is McCain’s running mate.  Since McCain isn’t exactly a spring chicken, he’s going to have to pick a VERY likeable VP candidate, so that people can say, “If McCain dies in office, do I want ________ running the nation.”

Finally, I’d just like to say that although McCain isn’t on my list of favorites, I’d vote for him before any pro-choice anti-war Democrat.

Back in September I said that McCain was dead, but “Mac is back.”  But I’ll still hold out for a Super Tuesday miracle.  With that, good night, and good luck.

Done Reporting,

Ranting Republican

P.S., for a good laugh, see the comments here: https://inkslwc.wordpress.com/2008/01/29/florida-primary-results-as-of-915-pm-mccain-wins/ and https://inkslwc.wordpress.com/2008/01/29/florida-primary-results-as-of-800-pm-called-for-hillary/.  And let me assure you that I’ve been called much worse than a “sack of shit waste of my air.”
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: ::

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Florida Primary Results as of 11:00 P.M.: McCain, Clinton Win”

  1. freadom Says:

    Good reporting. I’m with you on McCain. He wasn’t even on my list of people I wanted, but I’d vote for him before any tax and spend anti-war liberal. However, I worry that some conservatives might not be motivated to vote as they have the past few election cycles.

  2. inkslwc Says:

    True, but as we’ve seen in open primaries, he can win a large amount of independents.

Leave a Reply

