Rush Limbaugh May Not Vote for the Republican in November

On Monday, Rush Limbaugh made a statement saying that he might not be able to vote for the Republican nominee come this November.  Here’s some excerpts: “I can see possibly not supporting the Republican nominee this election, and I never thought that I would say that in my life.  You don’t have a genuine down-the-list conservative [running].  Wherever you go here in this roster of candidates, you’re going to be able to point out ‘not conservative, what he did there is not conservative.’  [The top candidates want the nomination] because it’s their turn.  We tried that in ’96 with Bob Dole and now they’re running the same scenario.  I’m telling ya, it’s gonna come down to which guy do we dislike the least. And that’s not necessarily good.”

I think we know which candidates he’s talking about, based on this statement made about McCain and Huckabee last week: “I’m here to tell you, if either of these two guys get the nomination, it’s going to destroy the Republican Party. It’s going to change it forever, be the end of it. A lot of people aren’t going to vote. You watch.”

In response to Rush’s show, Andrew Malcom, a Los Angeles Times blogger, wrote, “Across the country, people were dropping their coffee cups, choking on sandwiches, fainting and driving off the road. The king of conservative talk radio not supporting the Republican nominee?”

After listners all over were shocked and thought he was high on pain killers (I kid Rush – you’re a great American and I would be proud to be half as great as you.  God bless you), Rush took a call from “Dee in Aurora, Colorado, and he said, “If one such as myself happens to believe that there’s not too much of a substantive difference between Mrs. Clinton and a couple of the Republican potential nominees — and if I believe that either the Republican or Democrat nominee is going to cause great damage and harm to the country — I would just as soon it happen on the watch of a Democrat,” and that he did not mean what he said to be taken as he would not support any of the candidates.  I think he’d support anybody other than McCain, Giuliani, Huckabee, or Paul.  Which essentially leaves Mitt Romney.

I’m in the same boat as Rush.  I might not be able to vote for the Republican, but I will vote.  It’s my understanding that Rush would just not vote in the Presidential election, but I’ll vote 3rd party if I have to and send a message saying that we CANNOT give up the principles that hold this party together.  Also, we need to keep these Independents and Democrats from our primaries and caucuses – they don’t have to be open to everybody, so why are they (especially like Michigan where MANY Democrats crossed over since their primary did not count delegate-wise).

Done Ranting,

Ranting Republican
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: ::

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Rush Limbaugh May Not Vote for the Republican in November”

  1. Cold Water Says:

    Sounds to me like you and Rush aren’t really Republican anyway, so please vote for the Democrat.

  2. inkslwc Says:

    Me and Rush aren’t really Republican? Hah! The Republican party is beginning to stray from its principles – and that’s obvious by the candidates who are running for the party’s nomination. I guess I should clarify: I am a conservative, not a Republican. If the Republican party goes so that our platform reflects the views of Rudy Giuliani, I would’t consider myself a Republican, but I pray that this never happens. We need to keep the party running like Reagan had it, Gingrich had it, how Rush talk about it, and how Sean Hannity talk about it.

  3. Bill Says:

    I don’t like the people running on the Republican side either, but you know that we will vote for them. Rush will also. He says he won’t, but you know that he does not want a Democrat in office.

  4. inkslwc Says:

    If it’s a close race, I probably would. But if it was clear that we are going to lose, and if it’s Giuliani, I will vote 3rd party. If it’s an every vote needed thing, then I’d probably vote Giuliani, but I’d have a long debate with myself on what to do.

Leave a Reply

