Iowa Caucus Results (Not As Live and Updated As I Had Hoped)

OK, well I was planning on doing live updates from the party at the Michigan Romney Headquarters, but I had some issues with dying cars, sparking computers and a bunch of other things resulting in one of the worst days of my life so far.

Anyway, with 99% of the precincts reporting for the Dems, my Edwards prediction was CLEARLY off:

Candidate Votes % Del*

Obama

936

38%

0

Edwards

742

30%

0

Clinton

734

29%

0

Richardson

52

2%

0

Biden

23

1%

0

Uncommitted

3

0%

0

Dodd

1

0%

0

Gravel

0

0%

0

Kucinich

0

0%

0

And the Republicans with 86% reporting…

Candidate Votes % Del*
Huckabee 35,621 34% 0
Romney 26,524 26% 0
Thompson 13,932 13% 0
McCain 13,693 13% 0
Paul 10,184 10% 0
Giuliani 3,613 4% 0
Hunter 458 0% 0

OK, those are brought to you by CNN (http://www.cnn.com/ELECTION/2008/primaries/results/state/#IA) and I know some of the formatting is screwed up – nothing against the Dems or Huckabee, but I’ve been trying to figure out the HTML error for 15 minutes now, and at this point in my day, I no longer care.

Dodd and Gravel Biden (sorry, I remembered the wrong name when I was writing this) have now dropped out, but I think that will only affect Delaware.  I’m still confident in my Romney/Edwards prediction, even though neither one won Iowa like I said.  I think Edwards decent 2nd place will get him momentum in New Hampshire where he’ll start putting more focus.  Huckabee won’t get any real momentum in New Hampshire, and  I just don’t see the McCain surge holding out quite that long.  From there Huck and Obama win SC and that is where reality rejoins my prediction.

Just a little side note, Romney seems to be having a slight comeback as the last 15% of the precincts come in, but not enough to give him the win.  As of now, I’m predicting Huckabee to have a 6-7% win, instead of the 8% win he has now (he had 9% about an hour ago).

Done Reporting,

Rating Republican
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: ::

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Iowa Caucus Results (Not As Live and Updated As I Had Hoped)”

  1. Dan Connor Says:

    Gravel has not dropped out. MSNBC ran misinformation. Check gravel2008.us for more information.

  2. inkslwc Says:

    That wasn’t MSNBC’s error – that was mine. Thank you for paying attention – fixed.

Leave a Reply

