Ron Paul’s Tea Party 07 Fundraiser Update Number 1

OK, it’s been nearly 2 hours now, and here’s the live chart:

December 16 vs November 5 Total

At this point, I’m estimating that he’ll wind up around 6-8 million, but this is an early estimate comparing how he started today and the 5th and how he ended up the 5th. Although Ron Paul isn’t the candidate that I’m voting for (I’m a Romney guy), I still find these fundraisers fascinating. I’ve heard arguments like “You know, less people just give before and after, so he’s not raising any more money” but this isn’t true. Say that Joe Schmoe was going to give $75, but he hears about this – he’s more likely to give $100 to help out the cause, and Ron Paul just made $25 more. Multiply this by thousands of people, and that’s millions of dollars.

I’ll do at least 1 or 2 more updates on this.

Done Admiring,

Ranting Republican
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Ron Paul’s Tea Party 07 Fundraiser Update Number 1”

  1. Greg Says:

    Glad to see that even though you are a Romney guy that you are covering this. It really is historic🙂

  2. Matt Says:

    thanx fer the post. I’m canadian (howzagoeen eh?) and I’m very curious what it is about Romney that makes him a more desirable candidate in your opinion compared to Ron Paul? Do you favour Christian corporatism?

  3. inkslwc Says:

    I agree with Romney overall on more issues than Ron Paul. If you read my post here, you’ll see that overall I agree with Huckabee more, but that Huck, Romney, and Ron Paul are all pretty close: https://inkslwc.wordpress.com/2007/12/07/my-2008-presidential-candidate-match-and-quiz/. I’ve addressed my views on Ron Paul a few times (just look around – I don’t even remember where all I’ve done it now). I like him, but I just like Romney more. But I would have no problem both voting for and working for a Paul campaign if he were to get the nomination. He’s got a very strong core base, and I enjoy the enthusiasm that he puts into the race. I just hope he stays in the House if he doesn’t get the nomination. We’ve already lost Tancredo, and I don’t want to lose Ron Paul.

Leave a Reply

