Christians and the Religios Right Voting For Mitt Romney (or Any Other Socially Conservative Non-Christian for That Matter)

OK, first, I know that many of you will say that Mormons are Christians.  1. That’s not what I believe.  2. We’re not here to debate this.

What I am here to say is that the Religious Right (who I proudly call myself a member of) needs to snap out of this “I’ll only vote for a TRUE CHRISTIAN!” mentality.  I’ll think about voting for anybody who is pro-life.  If you’re pro-choice, you’re out of consideration for me.  After this I take into effect some other social issues as well as allowances for certain personal freedoms (where my semi-libertarianism kicks in), and lastly economics (I’ll vote for a fiscal liberal before a social liberal any day).

After having many debates with my mother who at first wouldn’t have supported a Mormon (although she’s still a Huckabee person – but hey, I like him too), she found this website: http://www.defendingyourdoorstep.com/Mitt_Romney.htm

I’m just going to highlight his 3 main points, and let you read the rest if you want to (and I’d really encourage you to):

  • There is no risk that a Mormon President will drive people into the Mormon Church.
  • There is no Biblical support for the fear that God will judge our nation if we elect someone to be our President who is not theologically sound.
  • The lives of 4 million innocent Americans should outweigh any concerns we might have regarding the theological failings of our president.

If the Religious Right refuses to vote for Mitt Romney (in the general election, I’ll be fine if they support Huckabee or somebody else in the primary) because of  his religion, I will denounce the movement and disassociate from it, because they have gone from not caring about issues to only caring about religion.  And I doubt that they think that all the Presidents that have claimed to be Christians, meaning that they would have to judge the religiosity of candidates, which is something left up to GOD to do, NOT Christians.

Done Ranting,

Ranting Republican
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Christians and the Religios Right Voting For Mitt Romney (or Any Other Socially Conservative Non-Christian for That Matter)”

  1. Ryan Says:

    It pains me to see this happen RR. Bringing religion into politics is one of the biggest signs of a false religion, one that depends on the powers of this world to force people into believing something. I am a Christian as well but ashamed to admit so because once I do I associate myself with you, a person that claims christianity but really hasn’t a clue what it is. A person that believes the ‘Gospel’ is something that is good for your wealth and health. But let me tell you something, I am not as spiritually shallow to align myself with a democratic nominee or as close-minded and obsessed with money to associate with a republican. Christianity knows no right or left side of the aisle, it knows Jesus.

    Jesus said love your enemies, George bush has failed to show this part of Christianity yet he claims to have an ‘active faith’.

    The bible has over 2000 verses that say to take care of the poor, our current president gives tax cuts to the rich while reducing public programs.

    If you wish to call yourself a Christian good for you, now try living it, a good place to start is to start taking what Jesus said literally, we are called to be like him.

    “I like your Christ but not your Christians”
    -Ghandi

  2. inkslwc Says:

    Now hold on here. Just because I don’t think the government shouldn’t be involved in helping the poor in every way possible doesn’t mean that I don’t. It is not the government’s job to help the poor – it is the Christians. It is a failure of Christianity and the Church here – although I do volunteer and give money to the needy, I don’t see quite a few people. I agree with you on a lot here, but you make a critical failure at the application stage: God commands US, the Church, to care for the poor, NOT the government.

  3. Ryan Says:

    “God commands US, the Church, to care for the poor, NOT the government.”

    So because bush is involved with the government he is exempt? If he is part of the church shouldn’t he be doing all that is in his power to help the poor? (by the way Bush vetoed the children’s health plan for the second time yesterday)

    “I don’t see quite a few people.”

    You are very ignorant and obviously, ‘quite’, young.

    I still stand by the facts that when churches meddle in politics they are part of a false religion, and George bush does not love his enemies as Jesus commands.

  4. inkslwc Says:

    No, George Bush is not exempt – he should give to a local church. But President George Bush should not go out and give government money to poor people.

    And when I said, “I don’t see quite a few people” that was in reference to my church (that was bad miswording on my part).

    The reason that we have so many poor and needy people is because the Church has failed. Instead of creating this big fancy buildings, they should be giving money to charities and the needy.

    And how is it that churches are “meddling” in politics? As well, how does George Bush not love his enemies? If you’re referring to going to war, even God commanded His people to go to war.

  5. Ryan Says:

    Of course I’m referring to the war.
    In the old testament God commanded His people to go to war.
    Now everyone can be reconciled to Him.
    Saul was the Osama bin laden that we have today.
    He was shown love by a Christian (even healed by one!) and he became the churches biggest advocator.
    He wrote 10 books of the Bible.

    Jesus said love your enemy, and was creating a New Covenant when he did this, He even said in the beattitudes not to follow mosaic law anymore.

  6. inkslwc Says:

    Show me anywhere that I’ve said that the war was a good idea (I think we need to stabilize the area, but looking back, we didn’t get the WMDs – they just moved from Iraq to some other country). Like I’ve said before, we need to move our troops to the border of Iraq, secure the area, and let the Iraqis deal with the internal conflict.

    And you didn’t answer my first question, how are churches meddling in politics?

  7. Ryan Says:

    How ar churches meddling in politics? Simple, by telling the congregation who to vote for, by pulling for a candidate in an election. I would say that churches and individuals like yourself claim that Jesus would vote republican and thats wrong. plain and simple.

    “we need to move our troops to the border of Iraq, secure the area, and let the Iraqis deal with the internal conflict.”
    I never knew someone could spit something out so utterly stupid…. Yeah! Lets lock them in their country and observe a genocide! that would be Great!

  8. inkslwc Says:

    Any church who tells their congregation to vote for is in the wrong. Any church who endorses the Republican Party as a whole is in the wrong. Claiming that Jesus would vote Republican is ignorant and blasphemous.

    Also, I have supported Democrats in the past who I think are better candidates than some Republicans. It doesn’t happen often, but like I’ve said. Social conservativism is more important to me – specifically on the issue of abortion.

    Utterly stupid? How is it stupid? Think of it this way – who breaks up an argument between 2 teenagers better? Another teenager, or an adult? Another teenager! But it is important to have an adult supervising so that the situation doesn’t get out of hand and fists don’t start flying. And I can guarantee you that the country of Iraq is in less danger of a genocide now than they were with Saddam Hussein in power.

  9. Ryan Says:

    The issue of abortion ha. Thats over, I disagree with it too but give up, why debate a topic that no president has any control over? ex. Bush is anti-abortion we have seen an increase in abortions in the last couple years than before. So a president is against abortion, big deal, IT STILL HAPPENS! wake up. If you are against abortion be willing to take in a few babies and care for some mothers, not lobby for a pro-life president, it won’t do you any good.

    So stupid, are you comparing countries maturities to that of a human cycle? But I’ll give you the benefit of the doubt and think that you are taking this analogy from some other blogging moron who you idolize.

  10. inkslwc Says:

    If a government doesn’t value basic human life, then I don’t trust their values. And Presidents can put Justices on the Supreme Court, where Roe v. Wade could be overturned – so the President has a LOT of power.

    And you didnt’ even look at my analogy, you just criticized it. The reason I said 2 teenagers is that’s who I often use this analogy with, so they can relate to it better. The same thing applies to 2 women arguing. Who is going to mediate the dispute better? A woman or a man? Normally a woman.

    The fact is, the Iraqis understand the problems of the Iraqis; we don’t. So leave it to the Iraqis to solve the dispute, not us – we need to be there to supervise. So, stop reading into my analogy too much and actually address my point.

  11. Ryan Says:

    Do you know how often a New Justice is appointed? We only get new ones when the ones we have die pretty much. Plus the congress has to approve of the Justice as well. Abortion is a dying argument, especially now that Plan B is around. I don’t agree with it either, the way to fight it is by helping those who have no other option.

    Your ‘Point’, which I’m still thinking you took from someone else, proves that we never should have been there in the first place. Do you still agree with your lofty analogy?

  12. inkslwc Says:

    A justice will most likely retire in the next President’s term.

    I still made up my analogy, and yes I still stand by it – we never should’ve gone into Iraq – we didn’t get rid of the WMDs, we just lost them to another terrorist supporting Middle East country. We did save some Iraqis from Saddam’s genocide, but we’ve also caused chaos. Now that we’re there, we need to help them though.

Leave a Reply

