NYC Police Commissioner Defends Shooting of Unarmed Man (and so Do I)

New York City Police Commissioner Raymond Kelly stood behind 5 police officers who opened fire on an unarmed Brooklyn man, Khiel Coppin, today in a press conference, saying that the shooting was within NYPD protocol.  The man who apparently had suffered from mental illness was confronted by police after his mother called them about a domestic disturbance.  The police say that he held a black object up to them after pulling it out of his sweatshirt (the sweatshirt part is somewhat disputed), so they fired.  Of course, all the African Americans here are coming to the man’s rescue.

What I don’t get here is the fact that the men and women of the law are NOT appreciated.  They put their lives on the line every day – and eventually a tragedy like this is bound to happen – but you gotta deal with it people.  I’m not saying that the man deserved to die, but he was asking for it.  I have known quite a few cops over the years, several of which have been shot – why, they hesitated.  When you have a possibly armed suspect and he pulls something that looks like a gun on you – you’ve got no choice  but to shoot.  If the policy was to wait until the object was clearly a gun, you’d hear a lot more stories where the officer dies, not the criminal.  Again – I’m not saying he deserved it, but give these officers a break people!

Done Ranting,

Ranting Republican

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “NYC Police Commissioner Defends Shooting of Unarmed Man (and so Do I)”

  1. I Coppin-White Says:

    You are a fool if you believe everything that you read. Do you honestly believe that the cops will admit that they shot without reason. Police officers have constant misconceptions on what happens in the “hood”. They, like many other ignorant people believe everything they hear or have seen on t.v about what life is like in bed-stuy. I hope to God you never have to experience this pain that I feel over the loss of my brother.

  2. inkslwc Says:

    Who – I don’t believe everything I read – in fact I know people who’ve been abused by cops who abuse their power – and these scum bags who abuse that position are the worst criminals in the world – but a lot of people are overly critical about a cops “bad” decision made at a moment when he has to decide between shooting or being shot.

    If you don’t mind my asking, why was your brother carrying the hairbrush?

  3. Petal Says:

    What’s wrong with carrying a hairbrush. We all do, don’t we?????? I guess you must be bald. Anyway I, girl I feel your pain , even as a cousin who didnt know him personally I find it difficult to understand how can the police operate in such a harsh and inhumane manner. even if he posed some threat dont shoot to kill, try to subdue him in a professional manner. I guess these people are not all that professional and the government should look into some type of training for them. May his humble soul Rest in Peace!

Leave a Reply

