Still No Gay Marriage for Maryland

Yesterday, Maryland’s high court upheld the state’s 1973 ban on same-sex marriages, in a lawsuit filed by 19 gay couples represented by the ACLU.

Good job Maryland!  Yet another state is added to the states that desire to protect the sanctity of marriage.

I really have nothing else about this, other than to thank the 4 out of the 7 judges that decided to uphold the ban.

Done Ranting,

Ranting Republican

11 Responses to “Still No Gay Marriage for Maryland”

  1. karen Says:

    My marriage is very sacred, thanks. Oh, it’s not legal, though; I live in Maryland.

    Just because we’re not exactly like you doesn’t mean we’re not just as good as you. My family and children need and deserve the protections that only civil marriage will afford us. The church marriage, the vows we made to each other, and the blessings of our minister, congregation, friends and family are what made it sacred. Thank God you bigots haven’t found a way to stop my church from doing that much. Too bad the judges were too scared to say the truth: this law is unconsitutional, because (amongst other reasons) it infringes on the right of individuals (like me) to not be discriminated against on the basis of their sex (which I am when I’m denied a marriage license with any particular individual solely on the basis of my sex).

  2. inkslwc Says:

    First – why should the government reward people for sinning?

    Second – it’s not discrimination based on sex – because if you were marrying a man, you could get a marriage license – so if you’re going to call it “discrimination” – at least make it accurate and say that it’s based on sexual orientation.

    Third – I have no problem with your church doing a private ceremony (and this goes along with a lot of people’s arguments that marriage should not be a government thing, but ALL couples should just get civil unions – which I disagree with – but I like this idea better than the idea of violating something God designed to be sacred).

    Oh -and fourth – I’m not a biggot – I have 2 homosexual friends.

  3. Rachel M Says:

    I don’t understand. You have FRIENDS, but it is okay that your FRIENDS’ human rights are violated by law…

  4. inkslwc Says:

    Even my friend thinks that marriage should be between a man and a woman (although he wants the benefits of civil unions) – but marriage isn’t a right – it’s a privilege.

  5. James Says:

    Hi Karen and Rachel M.

    http://politicalstl.blogspot.com/2007/09/maryland-supreme-court-upholds-ban-on.html

    You may want to read my blog post on this matter.

  6. inkslwc Says:

    And that’s my friend.

  7. Rachel M Says:

    Thank you James for educating me.
    It was eye opening to know that some gay people actually support the decision. I just stupidly assumed that all gay people want gay marriage. And I believed that giving the same privilege that heterosexual people have is the necessary just needed to be done by fellow human beings. Since I am straight, I just have to wait and see what gay people really want.
    Meanwhile, I better spend some time to understand the real issues behind the decision.

  8. James Says:

    I do not want (or really care for) gay marriage. All I want are a few essential benefits. I know inks disagrees with me, but oh well. lol.. it isn’t his decision..

  9. inkslwc Says:

    What benefits – there are some benefits that I think (not just) gays should be able to get that they don’t have (but these are normally benefits that I think should be spread to all people)

  10. cc4prez Says:

    Awww… that sucks, I’m not gay, but I live in Maryland, and know two very nice lesbian couples that would love to get married. But, no they can’t, cause the government says that they can’t.

    It’s bad enough that the current administration seeks to deny millions health care, condemn hundreds to death, torture dozens of foreigners, and refuse trials to hundreds simply because they are not citizens. Message to the Republicans: ALL HUMANS ARE PEOPLE!! And should be treated as such.

    It’s bad enough that the government does all of that, but now the government continues to deny gay people the freedom to love who they want.

    Radical Republican: Are you married? If you are, how ticked off would you be if the government said your marraige wasn’t legal?

    Put yourself in someone elses shoes, imagine what it must be like for one of the approx. 4 million gay couples in the United States.

    Be open minded. Think about it.

    Oh, and Karen, great job standing up for yourself, you rock!

  11. inkslwc Says:

    Ranting, not Radical Republican.

    In my opinion, the government shouldn’t have anything to do with marriages. Any 2 people (brother and sister, man and woman, uncle and nephew) should be able to get a civil union, and have the benefits of living together. Why does the government need to be involved in love? Of course, I think the gay community would reject this, because then everybody would have the same rights at once, and they’d miss their time in the spotlight.

Leave a Reply

