So – here’s some interesting news – California passed a a law that will ban teens from using any and all electronic devices while driving – starting next July. This will go into effect at the same time that adults are going to be required to use hands-free devices for phones. The penalty is $20, but it is only a secondary offense (they can’t pull you over for it, but if you were speeding, they could ticket you for both – I’m not sure if the adult bill is the same situation).
Teens would still be allowed to use them for “emergencies.”
A few problems I have with this bill:
- The whole no phones for teens vs. hands-free for adults seems kinda stupid – for me it opens up a possibility for a lawsuit – make it a blanket law for both – which one – I don’t really care (although I guess I’d prefer the hands free law).
- It should be a primary offense – come on – why wait for them to happen to be speeding? People can stay off the phone for (at most) 45 minutes of their day.
- $20 bucks! Come on – stick it to ’em!
- What is an “emergency?” I just got shot? I got a see engine soon light on? I forgot my homework? I had a fashion emergency? Too big of a loophole for me (unless it’s defined in the legislature – I don’t know – if somebody knows the bill, comment – but I don’t feel like looking this up.)
So – is it a step in the right direction? YES! We need a state law like this in Michigan.